The Motor Transport Museum in Campo sits as a crumbling testimony to days long past. Here you will find a collection of automotive vehicles dating back over a century. In their own words “We supply physical evidence of what once was, for the tourist and the young, a glimpse into the too soon forgotten past.”
Located in the historic Feldspar Mill, this museum is the final home for over 200 transport vehicles. They range from old belt drive machinery, single cylinder engines, electric generators, quarry mining equipment, rain makers, olive presses, anti-aircraft searchlight and even a custom built Model A log splitter.
Beyond viewing the vehicles, visitors also get a glimpse into the history as well as preservation and restoration methods used. Volunteers have collectively spent over 30 years accumulating historical pieces that would have otherwise been discarded for scrap metal a long time ago.
One of their great restoration efforts was restoring the Julian Stages, which were used from 1912 to 1915 to carry passengers and cargo between Lakeside and Julian. The Stage now resides for viewing at the Julian Carriage House Museum and is driven in their annual 4th of July parade.
The location itself, the old Feldspar Mill, is reason enough to visit this tucked away gem. Feldspar has been used in ceramics in China since the Tang Dynasty (621-945 AD) and in Europe since the 18th century. United States first mined Feldspar in 1825 in Connecticut and was shipped to England for use in ceramics.
Some of the sweet volunteers: